2014 ECU Nurse-Midwifery Students’ Community Clinical Placement Program in the Philippines

Thu, 07/24/2014 - 00:00 -- princess

Ten midwifery students from Edith Cowan University (ECU) of Perth, Australia accomplished their clinical Community Placement Program (CCPP) from June 23 to July 4, 2014 at Arellano University (AU) affiliate hospitals and partner communities, as part of the continuing partnership of the two institutions that started in 2011.

    The students were  Stephanie Buis, Amber Holyoake, Kellie Leszczynski, Natasha Oversby, Katherine Russell, Margaret Taylor, Amy Toland, Nissa Watts, Jasmine Wettig and Shelley Wilkie. They were accompanied and supervised by their clinical instructors, Ms. Carol Pinch and Dr. Sara Bayes

    The program aims to expose the students to the Philippine healthcare system, with focus on how midwives in the Philippines provide labor, birth and post-birth care to healthy women in a range of low risk settings.

    The first week of the immersion took place at the Rizal Provincial Hospital System,  Antipolo Annex. Under the supervision of ECU instructors and AU International Nursing (INP) professors, the students observed and assisted the doctors and nurses in the delivery room, the outpatient department and the post-natal ward.  Likewise, they  observed the activities in the neonatal intensive care unit and the pediatrics department.  They  checked vital signs of patients, undertook  Leopold's maneuver, maternal assessments and observed breastfeeding and normal spontaneous delivery procedures. They successfully handled and assisted in delivering babies via normal spontaneous delivery.

    On their second week, the students spent their immersion in the town of Pangil, Laguna. They participated in the Nutrition Parade activities where they served as judges of the Nutrition poster-making contest held at the Municipal Health Unit. The students had their community activities at the Municipal Health Office (MHO) and other satellite lying-in clinics of Barangay Balian,  Sulib,  Azupre and Dumbo, all located in the town of Pangil, Laguna. Their activities included cervical inspection with acetic acid, home visitations, prenatal check, reproductive health teachings, immunization (tetanus toxoid for mothers and polio vaccine, DPT, tetanus and anti-hepatitis vaccines for children), health education to pregnant women (with topics such as breast feeding and family planning), nutrition education and feeding program.

    In Pangil,  the ECU delegation was also accompanied by the AU nursing students together with the INP faculty members,  in touring the town and visiting lying-in clinics, barangay health stations, and some of the houses of the locales.

    On their last day in Pangil, the ECU students and clinical instructors, INP faculty members and students and the Pangil barangay health workers and midwives had a post-evaluation conference wherein, besides the assessment of the learning experience, a sharing of best practices between the two differing cultures took place.

    In the same occasion, the ECU delegation handed over donations for the purchase of OB examining droplight, Delivery room table and Fetal Doppler for use by the Municipal Health Office and other satellite clinics in Pangil, Laguna. Moreover, the ECU faculty and students awarded scholarship funds  to Keith John Concepcion Subijano, a staff midwife of the Municipal Health Office in Pangil, so he can finish his B.S. Midwifery degree. They also donated Fetal Doppler and baby mattresses for the Rizal Provincial Hospital.

    The ECU delegation was assisted and guided by students and the following faculty members of AU's International Nursing Program: Dr. Joaquin Venus III, Dr. Aubrey Go,  Prof. Ruben Ramos and Dr. Elaine Detera. They were headed by INP Director, Dr. Emerita C. Mendoza and the community coordinator of the College of Nursing of AU, Prof. Bernadine Navalta.

    The CCPP started in 2011 and was initially designed for nursing students. Last  year, the program was expanded to include ECU midwifery students. This 2014 group is the second batch of ECU nursing-midwife students who have benefited from the program. The AU-ECU CCPP program is expected to remain  an annual undertaking of the ECU school of nursing and midwifery. - Reporting by Dr. Joaquin P. Venus III


At the Rizal Provincial Hospital, Antipolo Annex.  with the Chief Nurse of Rizal Provincial Hospital System, Mrs. Rosalina C. Beronio.  

From left:  Dr. Aubrey Y. Go , INP professor; Dr. Sara Bayes, Mr. Ruben Ramos,  Ms. Carol Pinch,  Jasmine Wettig, Nissa Watts, Kellie Leszczynski, Margaret Taylor, Amber Holyoake, Stephanie Buis, Natasha Oversby, Amy Toland, Shellie Wilkie and Dr. Elaine Detera, INP professor.

The Australian students and faculty and their scholar. ECU students in front of the Municipal Health Office in Pangil, Laguna together with the recipient of the ECU school of nursing and midwifery scholarship, Mr. Keith John  Concepcion Subijano, a midwife and health worker of the Municipal Health Office  ( in white T-shirt).

At the Pangil,Laguna MHO. Front row from left: Dr. Joaquin P. Venus III, INP professor; Ms. Nadine Navalta, AU Nursing professor; Dr. Sara Bayes, ECU professor; Dr. Susan Alcantara, Municipal Health Officer of Pangil, Laguna;  Ms. Carol Pinch,  ECU professor, Ms. Marissa Teoxon and Natasha Oversby (extreme right).

Middle row from left: Mr Ruben Ramos, INP professor ; Amy Toland, Shellie Wilkie, Kellie Leszczynski, Jasmine Wettig and Stephanie Buis.

Last row from left: Keefe Ian Garcia, Margaret Taylor, Nissa Watts, Amber Holyoake, Mr. Keithjohn Concepcion Subijano and Katherine Russell.


Farewell dinner with AU officials. Seated from left:  Dean Mario Sales, VP for International Programs Division; Dr. Sara Bayes, ECU professor; Dr. Emerita Mendoza, INP Director; Dr. Aubrey Go, INP professor; Ms. Nadine Navalta, AU professor; Mr. Ruben Ramos, INP professor, Ms. Carol Pinch ECU professor and Chairman Francisco P.V.Cayco.

Standing from left:  Dr. Anna Katherine Pena, INP professor; Dr. Joaquin Venus III, INP professor; Kellie Leszczynski, Jasmine Wettig, Amber Holyoake, Cyrilmae Ramos, Amy Toland, Margaret Taylor, Shellie Wilkie, Renzo Ramos, Jay Maneclang, Nissa Watts, Katherine Russell, Natasha Oversby, Stephanie Buis and Dr. Elaine Detera , INP professor.  – reporting by Dr. Joaquin Venus III and Dr. Aubrey Go